Ending the Secular Church Search?

January 26, 2010

greg-epsteinABC has a new story on Greg Epstein, the Humanist chaplain at Harvard and an acquaintance of mine. Greg’s doing some really great stuff, including releasing an excellent book (“Good Without God“) and speaking at the Interfaith Youth Core conference this fall, and in the story he discusses the idea of establishing Secular Humanist congregations nationwide.

Personally, I’m all for it. In my WaPo op-ed, I discussed my desire to find a community of like-minded “nonbelievers” gathered around shared values and shared identity — something akin to what I experienced in my younger years as a Christian — and I think, with the right organizing, it is a legitimate possibility. What do you think? Let me know!

5 Responses to “Ending the Secular Church Search?”

  1. Ian said

    Chris, I think it’s a great idea and you have my support. If I can be of assistance I’ll be glad to oblige.

  2. eggplantinspace said

    Im not convinced.

    I appreciate the sentiment, but what you’re really talking about is a neighbourhood, where you all look out for each other, and check up on each other.

    I can see a time where we move towards mini communities, perhaps . Maybe privately run with general meetings. In some places that is already happening, but to have it as a “church” seems wrong.

    You may argue its semantics, but words matter. They mattered to “witches” in the 1700’s, the mattered to “saracens” in the crusades, and it matters to Jews to this day.

    I dont think we should underestimate these words and ideas. I think the far enough we can get away from the idea of a Church of any sort, the better.

  3. eanling said

    Oh, thank You! I thought I was gonna have to do this all by myself. Tipping point, here we come!

  4. babrock said

    I like getting together w like minded people. I have enjoyed my association w most of those groups that I have been involved w. This is not at all uncommon and is a source of enjoyment way more availiable to most theists than us non theists.

    There is nothing stopping us from joining most of these groups, so I guess t question is whether a group based only around secular humanist values only. I would think it is quite probable. People come together on interests way more trivial than that regularly.

  5. […] first had the opportunity to meet Greg Epstein, the Humanist Chaplain at Harvard University, when I was working onInterfaith Youth Core‘s […]

Leave a Reply

