Announcement: Partnering with Killing the Buddha!

March 15, 2010

killing the buddhaToday brings a very exciting announcement regarding the Share Your Secular Story contest that we’ve been biting our tongues all weekend long to keep secret — we are thrilled to announce that we are now partnering with Killing the Buddha! Along with the already announced Jettison Quarterly and Washington Post’s “On Faith,” winning (and perhaps even losing) entries will now also be eligible for publication in KtB.

I’ve long been a fan of KtB. If you’re not familiar with KtB, it’s a highly regarded magazine and website on religion. Their website is full of stellar content and they’re responsible for a couple truly excellent books, “Believer, Beware: First-Person Dispatches from the Margins of Faith” and “Killing the Buddha: A Heretic’s Bible,” that make my library (a pile of books that have set up camp in my living room) look a bit fuller. Check them out in our new Amazon link on the right side of the page (if you order through us, a small cut will go to help support NPS’ work). Below is a description pulled from their manifesto:

Killing the Buddha is a religion magazine for people made anxious by churches, people embarrassed to be caught in the “spirituality” section of a bookstore, people both hostile and drawn to talk of God. It is for people who somehow want to be religious, who want to know what it means to know the divine, but for good reasons are not and do not. If the religious have come to own religious discourse it is because they alone have had places where religious language could be spoken and understood. Now there is a forum for the supposedly non-religious to think and talk about what religion is, is not and might be. Killing the Buddha is it.

Sounds right up our alley, eh? Thanks to the folks at KtB – it’s an honor to be working with you. Stay tuned to the site, our twitter, and our Facebook page for more exciting announcements and information on the contest.

On a slightly related note, I’d like to share part of an email we received from an young woman in Arkansas in response to my post last Friday:

It seems that when you’re a secular person, you constantly feel like you’re balled in with Richard Dawkins’ belief system. I don’t think most people want to live that way. Condescension and cynicism are beyond passe but our bad habits of making light of religion, making a mockery of it even, are hard to shake. It’s kind of interesting watching how the most open minded people behave when you bring up the topic of religion at all. I sometimes feel like when people mention Jesus down here that my brain slams shut like a bear trap. I don’t mean to, it’s just a habit. Religion is really something I haven’t questioned or thought about in such a long time. It’s one of the reasons I was leery about writing a story for your contest. There was this feeling of “I am what I am, you are what you are, let’s not mention it”. But after reading your post, I realize how dismissive I’ve been. You made me see how very wrong I’ve been to treat people who hold those beliefs as if they can only be dealt with using a really long pole. It makes me wonder how many encounters I’ve squandered and lessons I’ve dismissed.

Thank you for your important message — it inspired me, and I hope that it will inspire others who read it here.

One Response to “Announcement: Partnering with Killing the Buddha!”

  1. Ian Riddell said

    Chris, this is FABULOUS news! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

